The future of our forests
Certification Canada

Certification status - Canada & the globe


Canada leads the world in attaining third-party sustainable forest management certification. This independent verification provides added assurance of responsible forest practices from a country with some of the world’s toughest and well-enforced forestry regulations.

The phenomenal growth of forest certification in Canada has been spurred on by a forest industry commitment to third-party certification. In 2002 the Forest Products Association of Canada (FPAC) – whose members manage the vast majority of the commercial forest in Canada – became the only national forest trade association in the world to require members to certify their operations to any of the three major, credible standards recognized in Canada:

  • Canadian Standards Association (CAN CSA/Z809 or Z804)
  • Forest Stewardship Council (FSC)
  • Sustainable Forestry Initiative® Program (SFI)

Four years later that goal was met. This commitment has been instrumental in spurring the phenomenal growth of forest certification in Canada, allowing the country to meet the growing customer demand for certified forest products.

SFM Certification Status in Canada—2011 Year-end

Standard Used Acronym Area Certified (hectares)
Canadian Standards Association (CAN/CSA-Z804 or Z809) CSA 57,103,722
Forest Stewardship Council FSC 46,272,411
Sustainable Forestry Initiative SFI 55,074,308
Total Certified for all SFM Combined: (some areas double counted) 158,450,441
Total Area Certified: (double counting removed) 150,567,044

Canadian Forest Sector Achievements (As of 2011 Year-end)

  • There are close to 151 million hectares certified to the three SFM certification programs in use in Canada.
  • Canada has the largest area of 3rd-party independently certified forests (CSA, FSC, SFI) in the world.
  • Canada has 40% of the world’s certified forest area.
  • FPAC members account for 85 million hectares of those certifications (counting areas certified to multiple standards only once)
  • The forestry practices in the vast majority of the forests in which forestry operations can occur are now certified.
  • The CSA Z809 and SFI standards have been endorsed by the Programme for the Endorsement of Forest Certification (PEFC). The FSC Canada Boreal, British Columbia, and Maritimes regional standards have been accredited by FSC International.
  • Canada has almost half of the PEFC endorsed certifications world-wide (CSA and SFI), and almost a third of the FSC certifications.

See Canada-wide and Provincial Information to learn more.

>back to top